News 26 Nov 2010

ASBK: ASBK Night of Champions staged at Crown Casino

Australian Superbike Champion Bryan Staring has been awarded the inaugural AMCN Rider of the Year award, the announcement made at last night’s ASBK Night of Champions event at the Crown Casino in Melbourne.

The all-new award has been introduced for 2010 to highlight one of the most prestigious gongs in Australian road racing, with Staring proud to accept the award that he was nominated for via fellow competitors’ votes.

New Australian Supersport Champion Troy Herfoss was revealed as the RK Chains Samurai Trophy winner for this year, joining iconic names such as Mick Doohan, Daryl Beattie and Troy Corser in earning the unique trophy.

Among the other major awards winners on the night were Ron Kivovitch and Stuart Stickland, who both received the inaugural Lifetime Achievement Award.

Impressive Victorian Superbike rookie Kris McLaren was handed the Kirk McCarthy Memorial Award, while Christan Casella was the worthy recipient of the Judd Greedy Award for top privateer in the Supersport ranks.

Each category champion and podium placers of the 2010 ASBK series were also awarded with custom-made crystal trophies on the night.