News 8 Nov 2010

Oz MX: MX Nationals calendar released for 2011 season

The 2011 MX Nationals calendar has been released, with CDR Rockstar Energy Yamaha's Jay Marmont set to lead the charge.

The 2011 MX Nationals calendar has been released, with CDR Rockstar Energy Yamaha's Jay Marmont set to lead the charge.

Williams Event Management has released the calendar for the 2010 Rockstar Energy MX Nationals, Australian Motocross Championship.

The series will expand to nine rounds as revealed on late last week, with Appin in New South Wales heralding a return for Sydney on the calendar as the third round.

A return to South Australia at Murray Bridge has also been confirmed for round four as expected after the state was dropped from the series this year.

Also added to the calendar will be Coonabarabran in NSW, while Horsham and Canberra have been left off next year’s schedule.

Western Australia and Tasmania remain off the calendar for at least the 2011 season after WEM consulted with privateers and their families at the final rounds of this season – making it apparent that many are still suffering the effects of the current financial state.

“WEM understands that members of the Motocross community will be very disappointed with the decision not to include Tasmania and Western Australia,” Williams Event Management’s Kevin Williams said.

“It was only after much consultation with privateers and their families, and with the overall best interest of the series, the sport and the industry in mind, that we were able to make the tough call.

“WEM are currently investigating travel assistance for privateers entering the full series who live in Tasmania and Western Australia to support them through these times – more information regarding this will be announced in the coming months.

“At present it is unclear when the championship will be able to return to these states, just as it is unclear how the GFC will continue to affect competitors and the industry, yet we remain positive that when the economy allows we will be able to take the series out West and across the Strait once again.”

After experimenting with a host of unique formats during 2010, it’s been revealed that standardised consistant formats will be introduced for next year.

WEM has proposed that the Under 19s and Pro Lites classes run four races, two each being contested back-to-back races at all rounds.

The Pro Open category is to run four races, all contested back-to-back at each round.

WIlliams confirmed to that these formats will be finalised upon aproval from the Motocross Commission.

Under 19’s will have open qualifying at all rounds with the top 20 riders, seeded after round one. The Pro Lites and Pro Opens continue to run with 40 riders in each class.

The Vets championship will once again be back on the calendar, next year to be featured at the Moree and Coolum rounds of the series.

Round 1 Broadford VIC 6 March
Round 2 Raymond Terrace NSW 20 March
Round 3 Appin NSW 10 April
Round 4 Murray Bridge SA 8 May
Round 5 Toowoomba QLD 22 May
Round 6 Coonabarabran NSW 19 June
Round 7 Albury VIC 3 July
Round 8 Moree NSW 23/24 July (possible two day event)
Round 9 Coolum QLD 30/31 July (two day event for grand finale)