News 2 Oct 2010

Oz MX: Seven new champions crowned at junior Nationals

Seven new Australian Champions were decided on Friday as racing continued at the 2010 Honda Australian Junior Motocross Championship at the Lake Macquarie Motor Bike Club.

American rider Joey Savatgy continued his strong form, wrapping up the 200-250cc 15 years class on Friday, only five points ahead of local rider Jake Vella, who finished in second place ahead of Queenslander Jacob Wright, taking the last step on the podium in third place.

New South Welshman Hayden Mellross took out the 200-250cc 13-Under 15 years class, six points ahead of Kiwi rider Dion Picard and Queensland’s Nicklas Scott who wrapped up second and third places respectively.

Heading into the final race for the 100-150cc 13 to Under 15 years class the two top riders, Mellross and Queensland’s Scott Mann, were tied on points, and following a massive on-track battle Mann emerged the victor, as Victorian Joel Milesevic wrapped up the Championship in third place.

In the race of the week so far, New Zealand’s Courtney Duncan and Queensland’s Daniel Price had everyone on the edge of their seats as the two battled in the final race for second and third places in the 85cc 12 to Under 14 years class.

Victorian rider Wayde Carter wrapped up the Championship with three points to spare, however it was the on-track war raging between Duncan and Price that had everyone watching, with the Kiwi getting the better of Price in the final lap to win the race and take second place in the Championship, relegating the Sunshine Sate rider to third.

In the 85cc 9 to Under 12 years class, Queenslander Mitchell Evans took the Championship win, ahead of state compatriot Wilson Todd, who wrapped up the week in second place, and New South Wales’ Jordan Hill, who placed third overall.

Coming into Friday’s race in the 65cc 9 to Under 11 years class, Queenslander Hunter Lawrence had an eight point lead, and continued his strong form, taking his third moto win for the week, ahead of fellow Queenslander Reece Rayner and New South Welshman and local rider Jy Roberts who wrapped up the Championship in second and third placed respectively.

In the 50cc Division 2, 7 to Under 9 years class, Bailey Malkiewicz (VIC) made it a clean-sweep winning each of his three races and wrapping up the Championship with 12 points to spare ahead of New South Wales’ Jordan Jess, and Bradley Cain (VIC).

The remaining classes will continue to do battle on Saturday with races for nine classes scheduled to take place from 9 am.

The Lake Macquarie Motor Bike Club is located just off Cessnock Road, Awaba – near Toronto, and entry for spectators is completely free.