News 22 Sep 2010

Oz RR: The 6 Hour shapes up for Phillip Island in December

Last year's 6 Hour at Oran Park was an outstanding success, won by team Demolition Plus Honda.

Last year's 6 Hour at Oran Park was an outstanding success, won by team Demolition Plus Honda.

Endurance motorcycle racing will return to the Phillip Island Grand Prix Circuit on 3-5 December when the 2010 running of the Bel Ray 6 Hour will mark the first time that the event has been contested as an official Australian championship.

Supporting the main event will be several exciting support classes racing over the weekend starting on the Friday and finishing on the Saturday afternoon, complementing the 6 Hour qualifying sessions and Superpole shootout.

Classes already confirmed for the action packed weekend will see the running of the final round of the Bridgestone backed BEARS National Championship.

As an incentive to get more European bikes onto the 6 Hour Endurance grid for Sunday, event promoter James Spence will be offering any BEARS support class entrants who field a BEARS 6 Hour team free entry to the support classes.

The 400s return as a major player on the weekend program with what is shaping up to be possibly the largest grid of all the supports classes, the State of Origin 400cc challenge, with grids expected to be maxed out at close to 40 entries.

125cc Grand Prix and 250-Mono categories are also included on the schedule.

The final round of the MRRDA junior series will also feature on the program with the cream of Australia’s current junior riders hoping to follow in the footsteps of the likes of Casey Stoner, Chris Vermeulen, Broc Parkes Anthony West, Josh Brookes and current Australian Superbike Champion Josh Walters strutting their stuff around Phillip Islands challenging world class circuit.

The sidecars will also have several races on track throughout the weekend.

Entries close on 10 November for inclusion into the official event program with late entries accepted up until Monday 22 November.

Supplementary rules and regulations for this years’ event are available via, along with event information and entry forms.

Last year’s 6 Hour was won by the Demolition Plus Honda team of Craig Coxhell, Russell Holland and Gareth Jones after a gruelling weekend of racing at Oran Park in New South Wales.