News 10 Sep 2010

ASBK: Stauffer fastest on mixed Friday at Phillip Island

Ducati Motologic Racing’s Jamie Stauffer continued his recent run of form, snaring provisional pole with a 1.35.116 effort during qualifying at Phillip Island today heading into Superpole.

Ducati Motologic's Jamie Stauffer was fastest on Friday at Phillip Island.

Ducati Motologic's Jamie Stauffer was fastest on Friday at Phillip Island.

The late, great Barry Sheene once referred to Phillip Island as ‘the gateway to hypothermia’, and for much of the opening day of round six of the Viking Group Australian Superbike Championship (ASBK) the circuit lived up to the label.

Ten degree temperatures rose slightly and heavy rain relented late in the day, allowing Superbike and Supersport competitors a chance to thaw out and take a shot at a good grid position for tomorrow’s opening races.

Demolition Plus GAS Honda’s Wayne Maxwell was the wet weather pioneer this morning, with his quickest lap of the 4.45km circuit 2.67 seconds clear of fellow Honda pilot, Valvoline Superbike Team’s Glenn Allerton.

Champion’s Ride Days racer Brendan Clarke showed his skills in the wet, setting the fourth fastest time on the Superstock-spec Honda ahead of North Coast V-Twins racer Craig McMartin aboard his Ducati.

A delay to clean up an oil spill on track saw the Superbikes complete their second qualifying session against the backdrop of a setting sun this afternoon.

Ducati Motologic Racing’s Jamie Stauffer maintained the pace he showed at the previous round, snaring provisional pole with a 1:35.116 effort on the sixth of nine laps completed.

“We tested here recently and the bike was really good so its no surprise that it was fast again today,” said Stauffer. “This morning’s session didn’t give us much to go on, so it was important to get up to speed quickly this afternoon.

“I’m looking forward to Superpole tomorrow where I think we have a real shot at being fastest and setting up for a strong run in the race.”

Maxwell and Allerton finished second and third-quickest respectively, with the former’s lap recorded in the dying seconds of the 20-minute session.

KTM Superbike Team rider Shannon Johnson bumped returning Honda rider Kris McLaren out of a Superpole spot, also on his final lap.

Championship leader, Cougar Bourbon Honda’s Bryan Staring was fifth fastest and is hoping to find more pace tomorrow.

Today’s top eight qualifiers advance to the single flying lap Motul Superpole session in a final bid for the best place on the grid.

ASBK promoter IEG and series supplier Dunlop today teamed up to provide an additional rear tyre for Superpole, ensuring all eight riders have the chance to showcase their skills in front of the large crowd of two and four-wheel fans.

Queenslander Des Darby was the early pacesetter in the first Insure My Ride Australian Supersport qualifier of the day.

The Triumph-mounted, wet-weather specialist excelled in tough conditions early but was unable to match the pace of points leader, Team Suzuki’s Troy Herfoss, who was over a second faster than Darby’s teammate, Christian Casella, on the dry track.

Aaron Morris secured third place on the grid before bringing out the red flag after the wave of the chequered following a turn 12 crash.

Both Superbike and Supersport classes will contest 10-lap races tomorrow, and a second and final 10-lap race each on Sunday.

Grandstand ticket holders, circuit campers and L&H Group ticket holders will meet a handful of leading ASBK riders at the Island Pavilion tomorrow from 5:30pm.

Riders will be interviewed alongside V8 Supercar and V8 Ute drivers before mixing and mingling with fans.

1. Jamie STAUFFER (NSW) / Ducati Motologic Racing, 1:35.116

2. Wayne MAXWELL (VIC) / GAS Honda Racing, 1:35.336

3. Glenn ALLERTON (NSW) / Valvoline Superbike Team, 1:35.890

4. Shawn GILES (VIC) / Team Suzuki, 1:36.318

5. Bryan STARING (QLD/WA) / Cougar Bourbon Honda Racing, 1:36.523

6. Shannon JOHNSON (VIC) / KTM Superbike Team, 1:36.886

7. Robert BUGDEN (QLD) / Team Mack Trucks Suzuki, 1:37.349

8. Scott CHARLTON (NSW) / Racers Edge Performance, 1:37.365

9. Kris McLAREN (VIC) / McLaren Motorsport, 1:37.829

10. Craig COXHELL (VIC) / CJC Racing, 1:37.917

1. Troy HERFOSS (VIC) / Team Suzuki, 1:38.604

2. Christan CASELLA (VIC) / Aark Electrics / Peter Stevens M-cycles / Triumph, 1:39.858

3. Aaron MORRIS (NSW) / YRD / Yamaha / Harvest Pools / Watson Demolition, 1:39.960

4. Brodie WATERS (VIC) / Sunstate Waters Racing, 1:40.086

5. Dylan MAVIN (QLD) / Mavin Industries / Jetset Alice Springs, 1:41.678

6. Des DARBY (QLD) / Aark Electrics / Peter Stevens M-cycles / Triumph, 1:41.777

7. Ben BURKE (NSW), 1:41.859

8. Aaron GOBERT (NSW) / Gobert Motorsports / Bell Helmets / Yamaha / Dynojet, 1:41.944

9. Andy LAWSON Jnr (QLD) / Champion’s Ride Days Race Team / Palfinger Aust., 1:42.494

10. Michael JONES (QLD) / California Superbike School Race Team / Yamaha, 1:42.596