News 15 Aug 2010

AMA MX: Dungey wins as Stewart falters in Unadilla return

Rockstar Makita Suzuki's Ryan Dungey took his eighth consecutive 450 Class AMA Motocross win despite the return of 2007 national champion James Stewart at Unadilla over the weekend.

Suzuki's Ryan Dungey took his eighth straight win at Unadilla.

Suzuki's Ryan Dungey took his eighth straight win at Unadilla.

After a three-week break, the 2010 Lucas Oil AMA Pro Motocross Championship returned to action for round nine on Saturday with the Rockstar Energy Unadilla National, where Rockstar Makita Suzuki’s Ryan Dungey took his eighth consecutive 450 Class win despite the return of 2007 national champion James Stewart.

After grabbing the holeshot in the first premier class moto, Dungey never looked back, continually extending his advantage over the field to the checkered flag.

In Moto 2, the rookie worked his way into the lead after a top five start, engaging in a great battle with teammate and World Motocross Championship contender Clement Desalle, of Belgium, to secure the moto sweep in the late stages.

“I got a good start in Moto 1 and put myself in position to lead laps and take the win,” said Dungey, who can wrap up the title at the next round. “I wasn’t thinking of the overall in Moto 2. I just race to win every time out. Clement surprised me. It’s not easy to come over to the States and do well. It was good for him and good for us to have a competitive moto.”

Desalle, riding for Rockstar Teka Suzuki in a guest appearance in the U.S., finished second (2-2) while GEICO Powersports Honda’s Brett Metcalfe, of Australia, rounded out the overall podium (5-3) that featured riders from three different continents.

In his long-awaited return to American motocross, San Manuel Yamaha’s Stewart finished 11th overall with third in the opening moto before being scored with a DNF in the second.

Dungey now holds a 111-point advantage heading into an off week and sits just one win away from tying 10-time AMA Motocross champion Ricky Carmichael for the most wins ever by a rookie. He also leads the division in average finish at 1.9 and laps led with 144.

Michael Byrne was next best Aussie behind Metcalfe in 17th overall, with Dungey’s teammate Matt Moss was 19th overall for the round.

Since claiming his first 250 Class overall victory last month, GEICO Powersports Honda’s Trey Canard has continued to win, capturing the overall for the fourth consecutive round.

A patient effort in Moto 1 helped Canard pass his teammate Justin Barcia late to take the opening victory. In Moto 2, Canard sprinted out to an early lead, holding on until the last lap before Monster Energy/Pro Circuit/Kawasaki’s Christophe Pourcel, of France, made the winning pass. He settled for second in the moto to secure the overall win.

“I saw Pourcel down in the first moto and I was surprised,” said Canard. “Sometimes it happens and I just tried to do my best to take advantage. To walk out of here with a 16 point deficit instead of 38 feels great. In the second moto I made some mistakes and Pourcel was able to catch me but I knew I had the overall.”

Barcia finished second overall (3-5) with Monster Energy/Pro Circuit/Kawasaki’s Dean Wilson, of Scotland, in third (6-3). After a crash resulted in a DNF for the first moto, Pourcel rebounded to finish seventh (38-1).

Pourcel’s advantage over Canard sits at 16 points. Canard holds the best average finish in the class at 3.9 while Pourcel has led the most laps with 101.

After a week off, the 2010 Lucas Oil AMA Pro Motocross Championship resumes for round 10 and the Rockstar Energy Southwick National from Moto-X 338 in Southwick on 28 August.


450 Class (Moto Finish)
1. Ryan Dungey, Belle Plaine, Minn., Suzuki (1-1)
2. Clement Desalle, Belgium, Suzuki (2-2)
3. Brett Metcalfe, Australia, Honda (5-3)
4. Andrew Short, Smithville, Texas, Honda (4-5)
5. Kyle Regal, Kemp, Texas, Honda (8-6)
6. Ben Townley, New Zealand, Honda (7-9)
7. Kyle Chisholm, Valrico, Fla., Yamaha (9-8)
8. Justin Brayton, Fort Dodge, Iowa, Yamaha (11-7)
9. Josh Grant, Riverside, Fla., Yamaha (6-14)
10. Tommy Hahn, Decatur, Texas, Suzuki (10-11)

450 Class Championship Standings
1. Ryan Dungey, Belle Plaine, Minn., Suzuki, 418
2. Andrew Short, Smithville, Texas, Honda, 307
3. Brett Metcalfe, Australia, Honda, 293
4. Josh Grant, Riverside, Calif., Yamaha, 260
5. Ben Townley, New Zealand, Honda, 249
6. Mike Alessi, Victorville, Calif., KTM, 235
7. Chad Reed, Australia, Kawasaki, 204
8. Kyle Regal, Kemp, Texas, Honda, 185
9. Kyle Chisholm, Valrico, Fla., Yamaha, 183
10. Ryan Sipes, Flaherty, Texas, Yamaha, 181

250 Class (Moto Finish)
1. Trey Canard, Shawnee, Okla., Honda (1-2)
2. Justin Barcia, Ochlocknee, Ga., Honda (3-5)
3. Dean Wilson, Scotland, Kawasaki (6-3)
4. Tyla Rattray, South Africa, Kawasaki (5-4)
5. Blake Wharton, Pilot Point, Texas, Honda (2-9)
6. Eli Tomac, Cortez, Colo., Honda (4-6)
7. Christophe Pourcel, France, Kawasaki (38-1)
8. Martin Davalos, Ecuador, Yamaha (10-8)
9. Matt Lemoine, Collinsville, Texas, Suzuki (8-12)
10. Wil Hahn, Decatur, Texas, Honda (14-11)

250 Class Championship Standings
1. Christophe Pourcel, France, Kawasaki, 365
2. Trey Canard, Shawnee, Okla., Honda, 349
3. Dean Wilson, Scotland, Kawasaki, 329
4. Tyla Rattray, South Africa, Kawasaki, 320
5. Justin Barcia, Ochlocknee, Ga., Honda, 248
6. Blake Wharton, Pilot Point, Texas, Honda, 243
7. Eli Tomac, Cortez, Colo., Honda, 233
8. Broc Tickle, Holly, Mich., Yamaha, 209
9. Jake Weimer, Rupert, Idaho, Kawasaki, 195
10. Martin Davalos, Ecuador, Yamaha, 187

Click here for detailed results