News 20 May 2010

General: New president elected for Motorcycling Australia

Motorcycling Australia’s (MA) Annual General Meeting (AGM) was held on Tuesday, 18 May, in Melbourne, where Stephen Foody was elected as the new MA president and Les Thomas re-elected as a director.

The elections were voted upon by members of the MA Council, who represent the seven affiliate State Controlling Bodies around Australia, and Foody has been elected president after serving as vice president since May 2006.

“My main ambition as president will be to try and unify all the States and have everyone working more efficiently and in the same direction,” Foody said. “We’ve come a long way in the last ten years, especially since the introduction of the Strategic Plan, and as an organisation we need to keep progressing and trying to improve.

“As long as we maintain our focus on the big issues and keep pushing our brand out there, we will hopefully achieve the goal of putting MA at the forefront of people’s minds when it comes to motorcycling in this country.”

Foody also paid tribute to outgoing president Ron Kivovitch, who served in the role for ten years.

“Ron’s tireless efforts have resulted in a great deal of progress for MA in the past decade,” Foody said. “He has provided me with fantastic guidance during my time on the Board, and I’d like to thank him for the tremendous service and dedication he has given to MA.”

Both Foody and Les Thomas were elected for a period of two years in their positions, while Lyall Allen and Beach Thomas are currently fulfilling their two-year Board terms and were not up for re-election this year.

Ray Newland’s term as a Board-appointed director came to a conclusion at the AGM, while Foody’s election has also created a casual vacancy for the role of vice president, an appointment for which is expected to be made at the next Board meeting.

For more information on MA’s Board of Directors, visit the MA website at