News 2 Mar 2010

AMA SBK: Daytona to kick off AMA season this weekend

AMA Pro Racing kicks off its 2010 season at the legendary Daytona International Speedway for the 69th running of the famous Daytona 200, this weekend as part of the Daytona 200 Week activities.

This will be the second year the Daytona 200 will be run at night under the lights at Daytona International Speedway on Friday, 5 March. Practice and qualifying for the Daytona 200 will take place on Wednesday and Thursday.

The AMA Pro National Guard American SuperBike class will see double action with two races for the very first time at Daytona. The first 15 lap race will take place on Thursday and the second race will be on Friday, giving fans two opportunities to see this exciting class.

Josh Hayes, 2009 Daytona 200 Winner Ben Bostrom, AMA Pro National Guard American SuperBike returnee John Hopkins, Aaron Yates, Tommy Hayden, 2006 Daytona 200 winner Jake Zemke and Geoff May headline the AMA Pro American SuperBike class this year. With seven-time champion Mat Mladin’s retirement, the field is wide open.

The classic Daytona 200 has been run continuously since 1937 with only the war years interrupting what is a true American classic motorcycle race. Every accomplished and important rider and motorcycle manufacturer has featured and won this event. To join the illustrious group of previous winners is to enter into a group of riders who share a special place in the history books of motorcycle racing.

Ed Kretz of Pomona, CA won the very first Daytona 200 on his Indian motorcycle. The list of winners extends to legends such as NASCAR great Paul Goldsmith to USAC and Flat Track star Joe Leonard to Flat Track greats Gary Nixon and Cal Rayborn to world champions Kenny Roberts and Eddie Lawson to Scott Russell, Miguel Duhamel, Nicky Hayden and Mladin and last year’s winner, Bostrom.

All have proven to be the best of the best. Racing under the lights again this year on Friday, the 57-lap Daytona 200 race will once again start the 2010 season off in fine fashion.

This year’s AMA Pro Daytona SportBike presented by AMSOIL field see the return of 2009 champion Danny Eslick on his new Geico Powersports RMR Suzuki. Also returning will be Graves Yamaha riders Josh Herrin and Tommy Aquino. Martin Cardenas will be riding the M4 Suzuki and 2009 SunTrust MotoGT champion Mark Crozier will be running his DNA Ducati 848.

The AMA Pro Racing SuperSport class will also have two races this year, showcasing the Young Gun group of riders aged 16 to 21 against the more experienced Top Gun class of riders which is comprised of more experienced Expert licensed riders and local talent.