News 17 Feb 2010

Oz MX: Australian team announced for Oceania Motocross

Motorcycling Australia has announced the Australian Team for the 2010 Oceania Motocross Championship to be held at Pukekohe Club, Harrisville, New Zealand on 7 March.

Riders will take part in the Auckland Championships on Saturday 6 March, at the same location before the Oceania Motocross Championship kicks off on Sunday 7 March.

Team manager Mark Willingham said that despite some difficulties with rider availabilities, a strong team has been selected and he’s keen to take on the Kiwis.

“Time was really tight for the selection process of the Australian Team for the 2010 Oceania Motocross Championship,” Willingham said. “We went through a list from riders who took part in the World Junior selections last year as well as examining results from the Australian Junior Motocross Championships at Newry.”

With some new names listed as part of the Aussie Team, the opportunity to ride internationally will no doubt help to thrust them into the spotlight.

“The opportunity for some of our younger riders to step up and experience what will end up being a huge event will be awesome for them,” he said. “The Oceania competition between our two countries has struggled over the last couple of years, but New Zealand has put in a massive effort this year.

“The event will be using the World Junior Championship classes to pit our countries against one another in what promises to be another fierce battle, while also promoting the development of junior riders for both countries. I am really looking forward to the rivalry, and have no doubt the trip will be a success.”

The Aussie team will feature the following riders:

10-12 years 65cc
Mitchell Evans
Hunter Lawrence
Jordan Hill
Dylan Dukes
Jackson Williams

12-15 years 85cc
Joel Dinsdale
Jack Simpson
Jayden Archer
Thomas Henry
Blake Colleton

15-18 years 125cc
Matt Phillips
Jason Reed
Errol Willis
Dylan Long
Kale Makeham