News 18 Jan 2010

NZ SX: Cooper wins Tokora, Townley still leads overall

Former world champion Ben Townley continues to dominate the New Zealand Supercross Championship, despite a crash in race one at Tokora on Saturday night before he bounced back to win the remaining two finals.

Light rain made the night’s proceedings difficult for the riders, with Townley finishing ninth in race one before claiming a pair of victories to finish third overall behind round winner Cody Cooper and second place finisher Mason Phillips.

However, Townley still remains the point leader in the 2010 series, leading the charge by 26 points over Justin McDonald, while Phillips and Cooper are tied for third.

The series will wrap up at the fourth and final round set for Manukau City this Saturday night.


Senior Open:

1. Ben Townley (Tauranga) 162 points
2. Justin McDonald (Christchurch) 136
3= Mason Phillips (Mount Maunganui) 135
3= Cody Cooper (Mount Maunganui) 135

Senior Lites:

1. Scott Columb (Queenstown) 165 points
2. Mason Phillips (Mount Maunganui) 156
3. Brad Groombridge (Taupo) 132