News 25 Aug 2009

Off-Road: Roberts forced out of ISDE team with shoulder injury


As a result of a shoulder injury suffered by AJ Roberts in the recent Australasian Safari, Motorcycling Australia has altered the make-up of the Wellard Australian Teams which will be taking part in the 2009 International Six Day Enduro (ISDE).

The 2009 ISDE takes place in Figueira da Foz, Portugal from 12-17 October this year.

This year’s Australian Four Day Enduro winner Jarrod Bewley has been elevated from the Junior Trophy Team and replaces Roberts in the Senior Trophy Team, while Andrew Lloyd has replaced Bewley in the Junior Trophy Team.

Mitcham Harper has also been granted passage to Portugal as part of Australia’s delegation, with the young Victorian rider being named the new incoming Development Rider for the Team in what will be his first attendance at the ISDE in any capacity.

Harper will ride as a Clubman in the ISDE but will also act as the Reserve rider for the Australian team, and the 17 year-old part-time motorcycle mechanic from Bright was thrilled when informed of his selection.

“I couldn’t believe it,” Harper said, “I’d previously been told I’d missed out but when I found out I was rapt.

“It could be a way for me to start my career, and recognition that I can potentially race at a World class level.

“It feels fantastic to have been selected, and it will be great being over there as part of the team and to ride for Australia… hopefully I go well,” Harper concluded.

The Wellard Australian ISDE Teams now consist of the following rider line-ups:

Wellard Australian Senior Trophy Team:
Stefan Merriman (Nelsons Bay, NSW)
Chris Hollis (Port Macquarie, NSW)
Kirk Hutton (Kobble Creek, QLD)
Glen Kearney (Picton, NSW)
Shane Watts (Maffra, VIC – currently residing in the USA)
Jarrod Bewley (North Richmond, NSW)

Wellard Australian Junior Trophy Team:
Geoff Braico (Sydney, NSW)
Josh Green (Soldiers Point, NSW)
Toby Price (Singleton, NSW)
Andrew Lloyd (Barnsley, NSW)

Mitcham Harper (Bright, VIC)

Wellard Australian Women’s Trophy Team:
Alison Parker (Glasshouse Mountains, QLD)
Jemma Wilson (Neerdie, QLD)
Jacquie Jones (Wauchope, NSW)

MA will be providing full daily event coverage of the 2009 ISDE in Portugal – including news, results, photo galleries, interviews and more – via the MA website at