News 10 Jun 2009

AMA MX: Monster Triple Crown enters fifth year this weekend

MX Sports Pro Racing PR:

The 2009 Monster Energy Triple Crown of Motocross consists of three of the most important and established rounds of the 12-race 2009 Lucas Oil AMA Pro Motocross Championship season and kicks off this weekend.

Entering its fifth year, the Triple Crown’s opening round will commence this Saturday, June 13 at High Point Raceway in Mt. Morris, Pa. Round two and the centerpiece of the Triple Crown takes place on the 4th of July with the celebration and tradition that is RedBud in Buchanan, Mich. A new event will serve as the site for the final round when Budds Creek Motocross in Mechanicsville, Md. hosts the crown jewel of the Triple Crown on Saturday, August 22 for the first time in the property’s four-year history.

It’s anyone’s guess as to who will set the bar this Saturday at High Point, but for the first time in Motocross history, all the drama will unfold live and in front of a national audience. Tune in to NBC at 4:30 p.m. ET to find out who stands atop of the box when all is said and done.

With cash on the line, the Monster Energy Triple Crown of Motocross is the opportunity of a lifetime for any rider. Additionally, should any two riders manage to pull-off the three-race sweep in the 450 and 250 class, they will receive a $25,000 bonus. Moreover, checks will be cut in the amount of $3,000 to the overall winner in both classes at each of the three Triple Crown races.

Privateer competitors will also get their chance to shine with $2,000 being awarded to the top finishing rider from the 450 and 250 classes. Should a sweep of the three-race series not occur, each rider to tally the most points in each class at the conclusion of the Triple Crown will be awarded with an additional $5,000.

Placing a bold exclamation mark to it all, the 2009 Monster Energy Triple Crown of Motocross will be exponentially important to the teams, riders and fans of the sport as for the first time ever, all three races will be televised live on network television on NBC Sports.

As far as history goes, only two riders have swept the Monster Energy Triple Crown of Motocross: The Greatest of All-Time Ricky Carmichael (2005 and 2006) and James Stewart (2008). While Carmichael and Stewart have won the Triple Crown on 450cc motorcycles, no 250cc-mounted rider has been able to accomplish the feat. Monster Energy/Pro Circuit/Kawasaki rider Ryan Villopoto came close in 2008, winning at both High Point and RedBud before being defeated by rival Ryan Dungey at Steel City in Delmont, Pa.

2009 Monster Energy Triple Crown Awards
Per race:
250 Class winner = $3,000
450 Class winner = $3,000
250 Class Privateer = $2,000
450 Class Privateer = $2,000 ( *Privateer awards are per race only)
Total for the 3 rounds = $30,000
Overall Sweep:
250 Class = $25,000
450 Class = $25,000
Total for 3 rounds = $50,000

No sweep:
250 Class = $5,000
450 Class = $5,000
Total for 3 rounds = $10,000

Overall Total: $80,000