News 25 May 2009

Oz MX: Motorex KTM riders top five in North Queensland

Motorex KTM PR:

–     Round four
–     Australian Motocross Championship
–     Mackay QLD
–     Racing format Pro Lites 2 x 30 minute motos & Under 19s 2 x 20 minutes
–     Event date 24 May 2009


Rider     Class    Bike    Home Town    State    Round result
Tye Simmonds    Pro Lites    KTM 250 SX-F    Bourke    NSW    5th
Kade Mosig    Pro Lites    KTM 250 SX-F    Pearcedale    VIC    Out injured
Jason Reed    Under 19s    KTM 250 SX-F    Tocal    NSW    4th


Rider     Class
Matt Moss    Pro Lites
Cheyne Boyd    Pro Open
Harley Quinlan    Under 19s


–       lots of tight sections circuit

–       no dust, great weather


Tye Simmonds – Pro Lites

–       struggled with shoulder injury, which had an impact on his results during racing

–       maintained third in the Pro Lites Championship

Kade Mosig – Pro Lite

–       out injured

Jason Reed – Under 19s

–       secured best result to date with a fourth in second moto

–       struggled with food poisoning leading up to the round hindering his results


Tye Simmonds Pro Lites

Moto 1: “I didn’t have the best of days, starting with my opening moto,” said Simmonds.  “I had a bad start, and rode off the pace.  I was pushing hard, but just wasn’t making up any ground.   The best I could bring home was fifth.

Moto 2:  “The second moto was better with my start, but a shoulder injury played havoc on my racing, and the pain almost caused me to crash.  This race turned out to be another horrible run for me, it was just a horrible day, and again I pulled fifth place, but thankfully I have maintained third in the Pro Lites Championship.”

Jason Reed Under 19s

Moto 1: “I got the holeshot in my first moto, and I was leading for the first lap, but unfortunately faded as the race continued,” said Reed.  “I was getting over food poisoning leading up to the race which didn’t help with my fitness in the race.  I ended up battling for fourth and fifth, but couldn’t hold on to the guys in front and I rode home in sixth.

Moto 2: “In between motos I was feeling that crook that I had to sleep, and my mum woke me before the race, gave me a Gatorade, and I got going.  I got another good start, and was in around seventh.  I got my second wind, and passed a few guys and moved into sixth.  Then a rider crashed, and I was in fifth place zoning in on fourth, which is where I finished.

“Towards the end of the race I was dizzy and lethargic, so I’m stoked to have secured my best result of the season when I wasn’t well.  It goes to show my best results are yet to come.”

ROSS MCWATTERS Race Team Manager

“Both Tye and Jason struggled at Mackay,” said McWatters.  “Tye had trouble with his shoulder, and Jason was getting over food poisoning, which damped both of their spirits and results.

“The end results saw Jason maintain seventh in the Under 19s Championship and Tye maintained third, so we haven’t lost any positions which is a positive coming out of Mackay.

“The Mackay venue was magnificent, and the weather was picture perfect.  In promoting the event, Mackay Motorcycle Club, plus John Hand and his family pulled out all the stops, with whole circuit looking more like a golf course than a Motocross track.   Mackay is a long way north, but the series organizers WEM, and the people up here always make the trip worthwhile.”



Sunday 14 June Murray Bridge SA


Top Ten Pro Lites Championship Points

Position    Rider    Team    Points
1    Matt Moss    Kawasaki    190
2    Luke George    Kawasaki    180
3    Tye Simmonds    Motorex KTM    173
4    Lawson Bopping    Suzuki    145
5    Kirk Gibbs    Serco    144
6    Mitchell Hoad    Serco    121
7    Adam Monea    Insanity Kawasaki    114
8    Lewis Stewart    Privateer    105
9    Lewis Woods    Insanity Kawasaki    99
10    Ryan Marmont    MX Rad    90

Top Ten Under 19s Championship Points

Position    Rider    Team    Points
1    Luke Styke    GYTR Yamaha    181
2    Josh Cachia    MX Rad    172
3    Harley Quinlan    GYTR Yamaha    171
4    Luke arbon    Kawasaki    169
5    Dylan Peterson    Thor Honda    149
6    Ross Beaton    GYTR Yamaha    143
7    Jason Reed    Motorex KTM     114
8    Josh Kilvington    Privateer    95
9    Kieren Tisdale    Suzuki    91
10    Dylan Gosling    Honda    80