News 9 May 2009


FIM press release:

Second round of the Qtel FIM Endurance World Championship, the 8 Hours of Oschersleben will take place Sunday the 31st of May during the twelfth “German Speedweek” on a German racetrack near Magdeburg. Thirty-six teams will enter this semi-nocturnal race, starting at 2 pm on Sunday 31st of May.

Winner of the 24 Hours of Le Mans and second last year at Oschersleben, Yamaha Austria Racing Team is the favourite for victory. After a fantastic race at Le Mans, RT Racing Team will also want to repeat their performance. And a few unlucky teams at Le Mans will want to take revenge, such as Michelin Power Research Team, Phase One Endurance, Team 18 Sapeurs Pompiers, BK Maco Moto Racing Team or AM Moto Racing Team. Having been between 10th and 14th place at Le Mans, Bolliger Team Switzerland, No Limits, Amadeus X-One and the German team RMT 21 Racing Germany will also be some serious contenders for the battle in the lead.

In the Superstock class, Qatar Endurance Racing Team, winner last year in Germany, remains the favourite for victory and they even enter with a second Suzuki at Oschersleben. The Qatari team will have to battle against Endurance Moto 45, who took sixth place in Superstock at Le Mans, the new permanent team Atomic Moto Sport and let’s not forget LTG 57 Zone Rouge, which had to retire at Le Mans but will certainly be highly motivated in Germany. These permanents teams will have also to battle against some local teams highly competitive on their home ground.

As usual in Oschersleben, the starting grid will welcome a few uncommon bikes in the Qtel FIM Endurance World Championship. One KTM RC8, two Buell 1125 R, one BMW K
1200 S and one Triumph 675 Daytona are expected in Germany. They will all compete in the Open class.
The free practice will start on Thursday 28th of May in the afternoon and the first qualifying session the following day, from 12. The Superpole is scheduled on Saturday at
5 pm.