News 28 Apr 2009


Motorcycling NSW press release:

Motorcycles made their final major appearance at a state series level ever at Oran Park Raceway (Narellan, NSW) over the weekend with the running of the 2009 NSW Road Racing Championship.

The race action that took place around the historic 2.62km Oran Park circuit over the two day event was highlighted by dominate overall NSW Road Racing Championship wins by current Australian Superbike Champion Glenn Allerton (Superbikes/ Superstock 1000), Queenslander John Allen (Retro’s / Club Sport / BARE / 125cc GP / 250cc Mono and 400cc) and Ben Burke (Supersports / Superstocks).

Current Australian Superbike Champion Glenn Allerton was the class of the weekend by demolishing his rivals on the way to his NSW Road Racing Championship victory in the Superbikes / Superstock 1000 class and he dominated qualifying and then rode to five impressive race wins in what complete a clean sweep of proceedings. Veterans, defending NSW Champion Richard Zaja and Jason Kain, did their very best to mount a challenge to Allerton but they were left to fight it out for the minor places. North Coast NSW based rider Beau Beaton was able to match it with both Zaja and Kain, especially during the latter races, and impressed many.

Queenslander John Allen mirrored the performance of Allerton by walking away with a clean sweep of proceedings in the Retro’s / Club Sport / BARE / 125cc GP / 250cc Mono and 400cc class. Allen was simply too strong for his rivals and in each of his five races he won by a comfortable margin and the likes of youngster Ryan McLachlan, Brett Clark and Paul Grant-Mitchell diced in amongst each other for the minor spots on the podium.

In the Supersports / Superstocks class the cream of the field was Ben Burke and he was able to ride to an impressive clean sweep of both qualifying and all five races. Burke was at his dominating best and left his rivals in his wake in all five races. The minor places resulted in Michael Pirotta finishing in second place behind Burke in all of the five races while Josh Hughes and Matthew Walters fought with one another over third place with Hughes ending up taking third overall.

Another highlight of the NSW Road Racing Championship were the battles in the Sidecar class and at the completion of five entertaining races it was the duo of Mick Alton and Mark Patterson took out the top honours. The form pairing of the weekend was the James brothers, Jason and Brett, who took out race one through to four and they were pushed all the way by Alton and Patterson. In the fifth and final race of the weekend, that was held under a reserve grid format, the James brothers were forced to retire due to mechanical woes and this handed the race and the overall win to Alton and Patterson. What made the efforts of Alton and Patterson even more commendable was the fact that they were using a $300 engine from the wreckers due to breaking their regular engine two weekends prior.

Individual NSW Road Racing Championship class wins were shared between: Glenn Allerton (Superbikes – A Grade), Michael McMillan (Superbikes – B Grade), John Tween (Superbikes – C Grade), Fayro Elmoliamad (Superbikes – D Grade), Beau Beaton (Superstock 1000cc), John Allen (BEAR), Marco Bortolussi (Clubsport), Jack Van Straalen (125cc GP and 250cc Mono), Paul Grant-Mitchell (Retro Modern Unlimited), Brett Clark (Retro Unlimited), Chris Roulstone (400cc A – D Grade), Ben Burke (Supersport), Mitchell Pirotta (Superstock) and Mick Alton and Mark Patterson (F1 Sidecars).

Full NSW Road Racing Championship results can be found at: