News 18 Apr 2009


Dirt Bike Promotions press release:

Sparks are set to fly at tomorrow’s final motocross for this year’s Hog’s Breath Cafe Australian 4-Day Enduro (A4DE) with a bumper lineup of off-road stars ready to bang bars at the Borenore site near Orange, NSW.

It’s been a close contest this year with Ballard’s Wellard Yamaha’s Jarrod Bewley taking the lead from Husqvarna’s Chris Hollis and only about 60-seconds separating the top-four Outright going into Day 4.

Bewley, from Sydney, leads after today, trailed by Kawasaki young gun Toby Price (22-seconds behind), Honda’s Anthony ‘AJ’ Roberts (65-seconds behind) and Hollis, who’s only a further .146-seconds behind Roberts.

Every rider sitting in the top-five Outright are on 450cc machines, so will race together tomorrow afternoon in the main heat of Championship Class 4 (290cc to 450cc 4-stroke).

“It’s definitely going to be the toughest final moto I’ve ever been involved in,” Bewley said.

“I’m just gonna try and ride a solid moto and if these guys want to battle it out, well I’m willing to battle it out with them.

“It should be a good moto, you’ve got [Toby Price] and [Peter Boyle] who are top Australian motocross riders and AJ Roberts and Chris Hollis are both right up there too… we could all run top-10 in an Australian motocross.

“I’m looking forward to it, I’m just gonna put in a strong moto and see what happens.”

MSC Kawasaki’s Toby Price, who is riding his first A4DE and was a factory motocross and supercross racer before switching to enduro, said he expected tomorrow would be “very interesting”.

“I didn’t think I’d be up this far right at this point, so it’s looking pretty good,” Price, from Singleton (NSW), said.

“I’m pretty happy with where I’m at at the moment and it should be a pretty interesting day tomorrow… we’ll be battling it out in the final motocross.”

GHR Honda’s AJ Roberts (QLD) made up nearly 40-seconds on Hollis today, moving into 3rd Outright.

“I would’ve liked to hunt down Price and Bewley, but Bewley was just too strong in the KTM test,” Roberts said.

“I just tried to put my head down and do my best and charge through and it’s working.

“The final motocross tomorrow is gonna be unbelievable… two of the guys in my race have full moto backgrounds, one’s currently doing the motocross nationals (Boyle), obviously Bewley’s on fire and Hollis is going well so it’s on for sure.

“I’d love to have a bet on [the moto], but I wouldn’t know who’s gonna win, that’s for sure.”

Roberts’ teammate Peter Boyle (Gippsland, VIC) sits 5th Outright, followed by Yamaha’s ‘King’ Kirk Hutton in 6th.

Hutton (QLD) leads Championship Class 3 (250cc 4-Stroke) by 10-seconds over Kawasaki rider Josh Green – Motorex KTM’s Ben Kearney sits 3rd, 130-seconds off Hutton.

Green maintains 7th Outright, followed by Husaberg’s Blake Hore (8th), KTM’s Ben Grabham (9th) and Husqvarna’s Jehi Willis.

The most heated class battle of the event so far has been for the Championship Class 1 crown (Under 200cc 2-Stroke) with Queenslanders Grant Siebenhausen and Nathan Castle finishing neck-and-neck all three days.

Siebenhausen just got the better of Castle today and has a 2-second lead going into tomorrow’s final motocross.

New Zealanders are dominating Championship Class 2 (220cc to 250cc 2-stroke), with Rory Mead (NZ) leading Karl Power (NZ) by 51-seconds and Jason Davis (NZ) just 3-seconds behind Power.

In the ‘big-bore’ category (Championship Class 5), Brad ‘Wonka’ Williscroft has closed the gap to leader Jehi Willis to 6.5-seconds.

Alison Parker extended her lead in Championship Women’s today and has 2-minute-15-second lead over fellow Yamaha racer and Queenslander, Jemma Wilson. Parker currently sits 114 Outright (out of 315 starters).

Stuart Bennett, from Orange (NSW) has a similar lead in Championship Veteran’s and looks set to retain his Australian title.

And in Championship Master’s, Yamaha’s Geoff Ballard extended his lead to an impressive 10-minutes.

In the team categories, Queensland leads the Junior Trophy category as of Day 2, New South Wales was in front in the Senior Trophy stakes.

And in the Trade Team division, Motorex KTM Off-Road Team is in front of Ballard’s Wellard Yamaha (2nd) and MSC Kawasaki (3rd).

Southside Time Bandits (Nathan Castle, Alison Parker and Jemma Wilson) are currently the fastest Club Team.

Tomorrow’s A4DE Jayco Final Motocross Event will be held at the Australian National Field Day Site, Borenore Road, Borenore (map and directions available at

In the 2009 A4DE riders of all skill levels – from Clubman to Pro male and female – from every Australian state (including Tasmania) and New Zealand will be vying for class and Outright honours.

There is also a state-versus-state element to the event, with the top riders from each state competing on Junior and Senior Trophy Teams. New South Wales took out the top gong last year for Seniors and Victoria for Juniors.

2009 A4DE Final Motocross event
Date: April 19th, 2009
Venue: Australian National Field Day Site, Borenore Rd, Borenore
Time: 9.00am – 3.00pm
Ticket Prices: Adult – $15.00, Child – $8.00 (14yrs – Under), 5yrs & under – FREE
Tickets available at the Gate.
Event Contact: 0438 721024 or 0408 629730

2009 A4DE Day 2 Outright Top-10 (Provisional)
1. Jarrod Bewley
2. Toby Price
3. AJ Roberts
4. Chris Hollis
5. Peter Boyle
6. Kirk Hutton
7. Josh Green
8. Blake Hore
9. Ben Grabham
10. Jehi Willis