News 17 Mar 2017

Husqvarna pours on the support in domestic racing

HQVA press release:

It might be the smallest of the big brands but the Australian branch of the world’s oldest dirt bike manufacturer isn’t half-hearted when it comes to backing the future of off-road motorcycle sport locally.

Husqvarna Australia has announced 21 Factory Support rides for season 2017, across motocross and junior motocross, off-road, desert and dirt track disciplines, as well as the host of dealers in the Husqvarna Dealer Support program who have agreed to provide the critical developmental pathway as riders pursue their dreams of a factory ride.

In addition to the high-profile SD3 team of Brett Metcalfe, Luke Arbon and Kaleb Barham (Full Throttle Motorcycles) announced earlier, the brand will field two factory-supported FC350 riders in the premier class, Zak Small (Mega Motorcycles) and Kurt Gow (Nowra Motorcycles).

Dylan Wills (Synep Racing) will join Arbon in MX2, while Husqvarna’s commitment to MXD will again be strong, with Barham joined by Riley Dukes (R&D Husqvarna), Jy Roberts (Robertson’s MC Dubbo) and Justin Hart (MPE).

Husqvarna’s Factory Junior Squad will be coordinated by former Queensland professional Nathan Crawford, and see Bailey Malkiewicz (Moto GC), Reid Taylor (Rock MC), Zachary Watson (JR’s MC) and Tye Jones (Redline Motorsport) share duties across their individual state as well as national level motocross events.

Out in the great outdoors, Husqvarna’s reputation as one of the big hitters and improvers in AORC and Enduro-X looks safe in the hands of factory riders like Lachlan Stanford and Broc Grabham, while extreme enduro specialist Mitch Harper (Moto GC) and 17-year-old rising star Fraser Higlett (will add even more firepower and excitement to the line-up.

South Australian Ivan Long will take on the wide-open spaces of desert racing on his Husqvarna FC450, while 50-year-old dirt track legend Paul Caslick will oversee two of the most frighteningly fast emerging talents in the sideways sport; Max Croker and Billy Van Eerde.

Jon Hafey – HQVA National Brand Manager, “The brand with the longest history and richest tradition in off-road motorcycling prides itself on identifying and nurturing Australian young talent – and a couple of talents who are less young – and 2017 looks like being our best season yet across all disciplines. Our off-road squad drips quality and potential, our motocross line-up provides depth of representation across all three classes, our dirt trackers are wiser, stronger and faster, and we’ll have a dedicated desert racer for the first time. I can’t wait to see it all unfold! Our program is also a credit to the host of dealers who have seized the opportunity to participate in the Husqvarna Dealer Support program as a platform for their business.”

Husqvarna Factory and Factory Support Racers 2017 –

Brett Metcalfe (SA) MX1-SX1 FC450
Zak Small (Qld) MX1-SX1 FC350
Kurt Gow (NSW) MX1-SX1 FC350
Luke Arbon (SA) MX2-SX2 FC250
Dylan Wills (NSW) MX2-SX2 FC250
Kaleb Barham (Qld) MXD-SXD FC250
Riley Dukes (NSW) MXD-SXD FC250
Jy Roberts (NSW) MXD-SXD FC250
Justin Hart (Qld) MXD-SXD TC250

Bailey Malkiewicz (VIC) Jr MX-SX TC125/FC250
Reid Taylor (NSW) Jr MX-SX TC85/TC125
Zachary Watson (QLD) Jr MX-SX TC85
Tye Jones (VIC) Jr MX-SX TC85/TC125

Lachlan Stanford (QLD) Off-Road FE501
Broc Grabham (NSW) Off-Road FE450
Fraser Higlett (Qld) Off-Road FE250
Mitch Harper (Vic) Off Road TX300

Ivan Long (SA) Desert FE450

Paul Caslick (NSW) Dirt Track FC450
Max Croker (NSW) Dirt Track FC450
Billy Van Eerde (NSW) Dirt Track FC250/TC125

For more information on Husqvarna motorcycles visit